Nail Polish for the Chemically Informed


Photo Credit: Bilal Aslam

Like many women I use nail polish. Starting two years ago I made a new years resolution to always have my nails done as a stepping stone to what I consider “beauty”. I love done up nails and have followed through with my resolution ever since. I can’t remember the last time I went out in public with naked nails. Over time I’ve collected more then a few colours and brands.

I’ve always known that nail polish and it’s removers were toxic. When my mother did my nails as a child after removing the nail polish she would stand over me as I washed my hands 5 times to make sure everything was gone. If that wasn’t a tell tale sign the smell definitely would be.

It’s easy to say that it’s just one small thing, but after watch Chemerical it has turned into a huge no-no. The chemicals in our bodies just add up over time. It’s a distressing toss up between health and beauty, but hasn’t this always been a choice with the many beauty products available?

I turned over to one of the new beauty boxes I received from Julep and looked up the company. I was pleasantly surprised to realize they had a firm stance on making toxin free products. Julep Nail polished are all fre from DPT, toluene, formaldehyde and formaldehyde resin. Even the hairspray included in the box says it is paraben, sulfate, and phthalate free, all being chemical buzz words.

Although I still doubt nail polish a bit, I definitely will be looking more into toxic free products and companies like Julep. Every little bit counts as I move towards a toxic free me.

-Heather

Visit Julep here: http://www.julep.com/

One Response to Nail Polish for the Chemically Informed

Leave a Reply

