How To: Get rid of Acne Naturally



Image: Ambro / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Previously wrote a great article on the realization that many of his acne products were absolutely filled with chemicals. I too have struggled, and still struggle, with keeping acne at bay, but have found some great natural alternatives that do a fairly good job as well as the chemical stuff.

Throughout my whole high school experience I was one of the luck ones blessed with perfect skin. Washing my face every day seemed unnecessary when black heads, pimples and oily skin were just something I never really faced.

As I found myself leaving high school I noticed more pimples then normal. I freaked and bought every complete line of products available. Of course I needed the face wash, toner, moisturizer, and topical creams just as advertising had told me so.

Rather then getting better my skin got worse and worse as I became more and more desperate. What I didn’t realize then was that I was ruining my skin. The amount of chemicals I was using eventually changed my skin type. I went from a normal skin type to combination skin type.

Eventually I just stopped. I went with plain old water twice a day and noticed an improvement, but not enough. While stopping the chemical filled products prevented me from getting more acne, the water just wasn’t enough to clean what was already there.

My current cleanser, Cetaphil, while not perfect at all (rated a moderate 3 at skinedeep.org) was way better then any of my previous products. It didn’t foam (chemicals), no fragrance (more chemicals) and it just cleaned my skin. Which I needed.

Some actual Natural products I’ve tried:
Clarisonic Mia ($200 CND): This is actually a mechanical brush that gets deeps into pores and takes out all the bad stuff preventing dirt from staying in pores and making a mess. A bit expensive but definitely worth it. I find my skin is less likely to breakout, and if it does it isn’t cystic acne that lasts for two weeks.

Tea Tree Oil ($5-10 CND): Tea Tree Oil is a great spot treatment that will drie up any pimples you have without the irritation! Extra benefit? Helps get rid of acne scars as well.

Witch Hazel ($7 CND): If you have really oily skin you may need an astringent. Witch Hazel is a great natural alternative. This will clean your skin without stripping it of it’s good oils. I’ve also used this as a spot treatment for cystic acne. Men have also reported Witch Hazel as a great after shave option.

Cucumbers: If you have a lot of redness you should consider a cucumber mask. Just cut up a cucumber and place it on your face. It’s cliche but it works.

Although these are just some of the tips, there are many more if you look for them. You don’t have to live with acne, but you don’t need to live with chemicals either.

-Heather

2 Responses to How To: Get rid of Acne Naturally

  1. site says:

    Awesome post ! Cheers for, commenting on my blog dude! I shall message you some time! I didnt realise that!

  2. Carlie Badey says:

    Cystic acne is really annoying since the scars it leaves are very unsighty and very difficult to remove.^

    Head to our new web blog too
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/what-causes-yeast-infections/

Leave a comment